PDF Print Email

 Brownlee Leadership Award

 The John T. Brownlee Leadership Award is the Florida Association of Colleges & Employers' highest honor.

Congratulations to Tim Harding from University of Tampa, our 2018 Brownlee Leadership Award recipient!

Tim Harding currently serves as the Associate Dean of Career Development and Engagement at The University of Tampa in Tampa, FL, where he has been employed since August 2005. He is originally from the state of Indiana where he worked in the Center for Career Planning and Development at Butler University for over 12 years. He is active in the professional associations affiliated with the student affairs and career services fields including the National Association of Colleges and Employers, the National Association of Student Personnel Administrators, the Southeast Association of Colleges and Employers, the Florida Career Professionals Association, and the Colleges of Central Florida Career Consortium.

Mr. Harding has served as President of the Southern Association of Colleges and Employers and the Career Development Professionals of Indiana. He is also on the Board of Directors for the National Association of Colleges and Employers, co-chaired the SoACE Conference Committee and NACE’s
21st Century Career Services Model Task Force and the 2016 First Time Attendees committee. He served for over eight years on the Board of Advisors for a software company, Experience, Inc. Mr. Harding earned a Master of Science in Education from Indiana University and a Bachelor of Arts from Anderson University. In 2009, he completed the Stetson College of Law/NASPA Student Affairs Policy and Law Certificate Program.

The John T. Brownlee Leadership Award was established by the Florida Association of Colleges & Employers (formerly known as FCPA) in recognition of John T. Brownlee’s contribution and tireless efforts on behalf of the organization.  


  • Nominee must be a FloridaACE member for at least three years
  • Current officers and board members are ineligible

Basis for Selection

  • Emphasis for selection will be placed on general contribution and support of FloridaACE, contribution to a specific FloridaACE program or project and/or professional contribution to the university recruiting and/or career services fields.
  • A nominee must be nominated by a current FloridaACE member.
  • Members of the selection committee are not eligible to nominate.

Nomination Procedure

  • Two letters of support are required
  • Submit your nominee for this year's award to FloridaACE's Past President via email to [email protected].


Nominations are now being accepted and must be submitted and/or postmarked by Friday, March 22, 2019.


The recipient of the John T. Brownlee Leadership Award is announced during the Recognition Luncheon at the Annual Conference in June. Recipients become Lifetime Members of FloridaACE and receive a crystal award.  

Past John T. Brownlee Leadership Award Recipients

2018 - Tim Harding, University of Tampa
2017 - John Sheehy, Stetson University
2016 - Tracy Joinson, Palm Beach State College
2015 - Mark Colvenbach, The University of Tampa
2014 - Sheila Hood, The University of Tampa (Retired)
2013 - Robin Kazmarek, Stetson University
2012 - Ray Rogers, Rollins College
2011 - Dona Gaynor, Florida Institute of Technology
2010 - Mike Tooke, University of South Florida (Retired)
2009 - Jane Colson*, Eckerd College
2008 - Jeff Garis, Florida State University
2007 - Christy King, Seminole Community College (Retired)
2006 - James Watson, Jr., Florida Atlantic University
2005 - Jonathan Thornburg, Hughes Supply
2004 - Grady McClendon, Webber International University (Retired)
2003 - Anne Foote Collins, Office Depot
2002 - Myrna Hoover, Florida State University
2001 - Marsha Leap, Florida Southern College 
2000 - Scott Wilson, Electronic Data Systems
1999 - Rick Neely, Walt Disney World
1998 - Sherri Dressler, University of Central Florida
1997 - Ed Fleck, FBI (Retired)
1997 - Kate Ray, University of North Florida
1996 - Geri Moers, University of West Florida
1995 - Ray Thrift, University of West Florida
1994 - Kent Phillips, Walt Disney World (Retired)
1993 - Olga Magnusen*, Florida International University
1992 - Robert O'Neal, Florida State University (Retired)
1991 - Carol Ann Boyles, University of North Florida (Retired)
1990 - Glenda Lentz*, University of South Florida
1989 - Manny Virata, Jr., NASA (Retired)
1988 - John Sherrill*, University of West Florida
1987 - Maurice Mayberry*, University of Florida

*Gone But Never Forgotten...to those members we've lost over the years.

Last Updated on Monday, March 18, 2019 07:55 AM